Cheer Coaches’ Certification Information


Our certification process focuses on safety to ensure our athletes receive the best instruction possible and in order to align with the insurance we provide our members.  It is mandatory that ALL coaches are certified prior to coaching independently.  Coaches must be at least sixteen years of age to become certified. 

The following courses are mandatory for all SCA coaches to be considered certified:

  1. Intro to Cheer Online Exam
  2. SCA online cheer safety exams
  3. SCA in-person exams
  4. Concussion Course (one-time)
  5. Respect in Sport Online course (one-time)
  6. First Aid training (minimum sport first aid)
  7. NCCP modules: 1) Making Ethical Decisions (MED);  2) Planning a Practice;  and 3) Nutrition**

** Required for Level 3+/Median Coaches

Failure to provide full certification documentation will result in probation until proof of certification can be provided. If proof cannot be provided and coaching continues, it may result in loss of membership for the coach and/or program.

Online Exam

Coaches must complete the online SCA Intro to Cheer and Safety exam for the level(s) the coach wishes to receive certification in. These exams are available online.

In-Person Exam

Coaches must also complete the SCA in-person certification exam.  This is a one-on-one exam between the coach and an SCA certified examiner.  The examiner will ask the coach a series of stunt and tumbling based instruction questions with-in the leveled/divisional parameters.  For example, the all star level 1 SCA exam will consist of questions surrounding the instruction of level 1 stunts and tumbling skills.  The examiner is looking for answers that demonstrate the coach’s knowledge of how to safely and successfully teach athletes the at level skills for the level/division being tested.  Coaches will be informed of their success rate at the end of the exam. Certification cost is $25/level.  The SCA certifies up to all star level 5 and Scholastic University Premier.  SCA certification expires after three years.

Coaches must certify by progression, meaning an all star coach must be successful at level 1 prior to proceeding to level 2 certification, and so on for all star.  For scholastic, they must pass the beginner level prior to proceeding to novice, and so on.