Our certification process focuses on safety to ensure our athletes receive the best instruction possible and in order to align with the insurance we provide our members.  It is mandatory that ALL coaches are certified prior to coaching independantly.  Coaches must be at least sixteen years of age to become certified. 

SCA Coaches’ Certification Policy

The following courses are mandatory for all SCA coaches to be considered certified:

  1. First Aid training (minimum sport first aid)
  2. Concussion Course (one-time)
  3. Respect in Sport Online course (one-time)
  4. Intro to Cheer Online Exam
  5. SCA online cheer safety exams
  6. SCA one-on-one exams
  7. NCCP modules :1) Making Ethical Decisions (MED);  2) Planning a Practice;  and 3) Nutrition**

** Required for Level 3+/Median Coaches

In addition to first aid training, concussion awareness and respect in sport, cheer coaches are required to complete a two-part exam per level in order to receive their SCA certification.

The first step is to complete the SCA Safety exam for the level(s) the coach wishes to receive certification in. These exams are available online.

The second step is the SCA certification exam.  This is a one-on-one exam between the coach and an SCA certified examiner.  The examiner will ask the coach a series of stunt and tumbling based instruction questions with-in the leveled/divisional parameters.  For example, the all star level 1 SCA exam will consist of questions surrounding the instruction of level 1 stunts and tumbling skills.  The examiner is looking for answers that demonstrate the coaches knowledge of how to safely and successfully teach athletes the at level skills for the level/division being tested.  Coaches will be informed of their success rate at the end of the exam. Certification cost is $25/level.  The SCA certifies up to all star level 5 and Scholastic University Premier.  SCA certification expires after three years.

One-on-one SCA Exam Equivalencies for Scholastic Coaches:

  • Beginner = All Star Level 1
  • Novice = All Star level 1
  • Intermediate = All Star Level 2
  • Median = All Star Level 3
  • Advanced = All Star Level 5
  • University Premier = All Star Level 6

Coaches must certify by progression, meaning an all star coach must be successful at level 1 prior to proceeding to level 2 certification, and so on for all star.  For scholastic, they must be pass the beginner level prior to proceeding to novice, and so on.

It is mandatory that all high level (all star level 3+/scholastic level median) cheer coaches complete the following NCCP modules: 1) Making Ethical Decisions (MED);  2) Planning a Practice;  and 3) Nutrition  by December 2019.  The modules are designed to teach coaches the fundamentals of:

  • Making ethical decisions – analyze a challenging situation and determine if it has moral, legal or ethical implications; and apply the NCCP Ethical Decision-Making Model to properly respond to each situation in a way that is consistent with the NCCP Code of Ethics.
  • Nutrition: determine if foods and beverages consumed by your athletes before, during and after training are adequate; offer suggestions for more suitable food and beverage alternatives when necessary; and gain a better understanding of the best way to promote healthy food choices that are consistent with basic sport nutrition principles to both athletes and their parents.
  • Planning a Practice: organize a well-structured practice plan with safe, age-appropriate activities you’ve designed to match the proficiency level of participants; identify potential risk factors that could impact the sport and practice activities; create an emergency action plan; and identify practice goals and design activities that offer the best training benefits for the athletic skills required in your sport.

Failure to provide full certification documentation will result in probation until proof of certification can be provided. If proof cannot be provided and coaching continues, it may result in loss of membership for the coach and/or program .